resources

Use this section to identify and source products, services, and building trades pertaining to the homes in this issue. Unless otherwise noted, businesses are located in New Mexico, the area code is 505, and the prefix for websites is www.

This article first appeared in Winter 2010 Su Casa

GREEN’S ANATOMY
Unless otherwise noted, businesses below are in Santa Fe, New Mexico.
Designer & builder: Faren Dancer, Sundancer Creations, 670-9299, farendancer@comcast.net, sundancercreations.com or theemeraldhomesantafe.com. Interior designer: Lisa Samuel, Samuel Design Group, 820-0239, lisa@samueldesigngroup.com, samueldesigngroup.com. Accessories: (on dining table, candleholder on island, bowls holding lemons, branches in vase near fireplace & vase on bedside table) accessories available at Samuel Design Group; (purple vase in bathroom) accessories available at Aquila Boutique at Victoria Price Art & Design, 982-8632, victoriaprice.com. Appliances: Bosch, from Ferguson, 474-8300, ferguson.com. Artwork: (pieces hanging above built-in cabinets near dining area) by Matthew Chase Daniel, available at Victoria Price Art & Design; (pottery on the built-in near dining area) by Pam Wagner, available at Jay Etkin Gallery, 901/550-0064, jayetkingallery.com; (piece hanging near the bed with pale gray bedding) by David Rudolph, available at Samuel Design Group; (rectangular piece hanging vertically near the kitchen) by Kate Joyce, available at Victoria Price Art & Design; (art glass in bathroom) made with recycled glass, by Laura Goodwin, Nambe Glass Studio, 455-7175. Backsplashes (kitchen & bathroom): Oceanside recycled glass tile, Milestone, 989-1999, milestonenm.com. Bed (with pale gray bedding) & headboard: “Get Your Green On,” designed by Lisa Samuel Eco Friendly; (bedding) Home Source bamboo sheets and bedding; (stools at foot of bed) Brazilian leather ottoman cubes; all available at Samuel Design Group. (Bedside table) Innovations available at Victoria Price Art & Design. Bed (with dark gray bedding): Modern Wood Eco-Chic Furniture; (bedding) Home Source bamboo sheets; (bedside table) Modern Wood Eco-Chic Furniture; all available at Samuel Design Group. Cabinetry: 100 percent reclaimed old-growth throughout, Foxwood Cabinetry, 424-7312, foxwoodcabinets.com. Chair (next to bedroom fireplace): “Not Your Grand daddy’s Wing Back,” available at Samuel Design Group. Compressed earth block: (made on-site) Earth Block, Pagosa Springs, CO, 970/883-2456, earthblockinc.com. Concrete: Golden Seibert Co., 424-6994, insulatedconcretehomesofnm.com. Console table (against stone wall): Modern Wood Eco-Chic Furniture, available at Samuel Design Group. Countertops: CaesarStone, 877/978-2789, caesarstoneus.com, Duran Distributing, Van Nuys, CA. Dining table & chairs: Modern Wood Eco-Chic Furniture, available at Samuel Design Group. Doors: (interior) Forest Stewardship Council–certified knotty alder, Santa Fe Door Store, Albuquerque, 345-3160, santafedoor.com; (entry door) reclaimed ash. Electrical: Rio Electric, Española, 920-5548; Lutron automation system, designed and installed by Lightgreen by Nathan Mackintosh Audio Video, 310-5500, lightgreen.bz. Fireplace: Wittus Fire by Design (online), wittus.com; (master bedroom) woodstove manufactured by Jydepejsen, Denmark. Flooring: limestone, Ground Floor, 603-7322, groundfloorstone.com; Forest Stewardship Council–certified quarter-sawn oak, Allegheny Mountain Flooring (online), 800/867-9441, hickmanwoods.com. Framing: double frame with finger-jointed studs, Carrillo’s Construction, 690-4374. Gates & ironwork: Rustic Door & Gate, 670-2509, rusticdoorandgate.com. Hardware: Rocky Mountain Hardware, distributed by Fine Design, Stevensville, MT, 406/777-4343. Heating & cooling: geothermal radiant (water furnace), OASys Hybrid Evaporative AC, 670-9299. Insulation: blown cellulose (recycled newspaper), Althouse, 469-7480, althouse.biz. Lamps: (on built-in cabinet near dining table) Alan Knight, available at Samuel Design Group; (on bedside table) accessories available at Samuel Design Group. Landscaping: trees and plants from Santa Fe Tree Farm, 984-2888, santafetree.com; design by Faren Dancer. Lumber: ProBuild, 471-7474, probuild.com. Outdoor lighting fixtures: all LED, SoCal Lighting (online), 877/762-2515, socallighting.com. Paint: All New, 984-5022, allnewpainting.com. Patio furniture: Moroso available at Victoria Price Art & Design. Pendant lights (above kitchen island): LED, Progress Lighting, progresslighting.com. Plaster: Tobias Stucco, Chaparral Materials, 471-3491, chaparralmaterials.com. Plumbing: Medlin Mechanical, 577-8087. Plumbing fixtures & hardware: Kohler, Dahl Plumbing, 471-1811, destinationdahl.com. Rain chains: Harvest H2O, 984-8907, harvesth2o.com. Roofing: polyurethane foam roofing, Southwest Spray Foam, 231-6032, southwestsprayfoam.com. Rugs: (under dining table & in bedroom with zigzag pattern) G. Coles-Christensen, available at G. Coles-Christensen Rug Merchants, 986-6089, therugmerchants.com. Sculptures: Faren Dancer mixed-media inlayed carved sculptures, 670-9299, sundancercreations.com. Sinks: (black granite) Stone Forest, 888/682-2987, stoneforest.com. (Hand-blown recycled glass) Laura Goodwin, Nambe Glass Studio; and Patrick Morrissey, Prairie Dog Glass, 920-5241. (Cast-iron) Kohler, kohler.com. Solar equipment & contractor: solar electric photovoltaic, Positive Energy, 424-1112, positiveener gysolar.com. Stonework: Renaissance Builders, 577-4091. Stools (at the island): available at Samuel Design Group. Stucco: Juan Duran Lath & Plaster, 204-0896; El Rey Stucco, Albuquerque, 873-1180, elrey.com. Tile: stone and glass tile, Milestone; (bathroom) Oceanside recycled glass tile, Milestone. Windows: heat mirror high-performance windows, Serious Materials, Boulder, CO, 800/797-8159, seriousmaterials.com.

BUILDING A HEALTHY HOME
Unless otherwise noted, businesses below are in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Builder: Paul Chavez, Earth Origins Construction, 688-1228, paul@albuquerquegreenhomebuilder.net, albuquerquegreenhomebuilder.net. Designers: Paul and Anita Chavez, Earth Origins Construction; with Ron Montoya, Ron Montoya Design, 823-6474, ronmontoyadesign.com. Building team: James Chavez, Steve Chavez, and Paul Chavez. Consultants: Mark Chalom, Joaquin Karcher, Bill Althouse, Larry Gorman, and Jack Haring. Interior design: Anita Chavez, Earth Origins Construction. Appliances: Jenn-Air Energy Star, from Baillio’s Electronic & Appliance Connection, 883-7511, baillios.com. Custom metal hood extension by Sun Metal, 247-2278, www.sunmetalroofs.com. Bed: Paul Chavez, Earth Origins Construction. Bedding: organic bedding, Gaiam (online), 877/989-6321, gaiam.com. Bookshelves: bamboo, built by Paul Chavez, Earth Origins Construction. Cabinetry: sustainably harvested bamboo from Cali Bamboo (online), 888/788-2254, calibamboo.com; built by Paul Chavez, Earth Origins Construction. Ceiling fans: (interior) Hunter 21628 Palermo 52-inch 5-blade
ceiling fan with black and walnut blades, brushed bronze, amazon.com; (back courtyard) Lowe’s, lowes.com. Concrete: stained by Earth Origins Construction. Countertops: concrete by Earth Origins Construction. Doorbell surround: designed by Anita Chavez and fabricated by James Chavez, Earth Origins Construction. Doors: (front door) custom alder door built by Jack Haring, Rio Puerco Woodworks, Rio Rancho, 891-1386; door stained by Earth Origins Construction using pigment and low-VOC stain from BioShield, Santa Fe, 438-3448, bioshieldpaint.com. (Interior doors) alder, made by Jack Haring, Rio Puerco Woodworks. Electrical: Watts Up Electric, 604-8710. Fireplaces: from Western Building Supply, 823-2500, westernbuildingsupply.com; fireplace build-out designed and built by Earth Origins Construction. Flooring: (kitchen & living areas) concrete flooring by Earth Origins Construction. (Pebble “river”) materials from Architectural Surfaces, 889-0124, asitileandstone.com; designed and installed by Earth Origins Construction. (Bedrooms) Enviro-Cork flooring, Simple Floors (online), 800/220-7112, simplefloors.com. Framing: Paul Chavez, Earth Origins Construction. Gray water system, plumbing, heating & cooling: Rick Padilla, Twin Builders Plumbing Heating, Rio Rancho, 450-7012. Hardware: (doors) Emtek, Pat’s Doors, 877-7524; (cabinets) Emtek, ordered online. Home energy tester & green rater: Larry Gorman, Building Energy Solutions, Placitas, 269-2969, buildingenergysolutions.com. Insulation: R-50 stabilized cellulose insulation in the ceilings and R-44 dry dense-pack cellulose in all walls, installed by Bill Althouse, Althouse, Santa Fe, 469-7480, althouse.biz. Island inlay: designed by Anita Chavez and fabricated by James Chavez. Landscaping: Anita Chavez and Earth Origins Construction. Lighting: (cork-lined fixtures) Forecast (online), 800/989-3000, forecastltg.com; (outdoor fixtures) Lowe’s, lowes.com. Paint: no-VOC EnviroKote, Kwal Paint, kwalpaint.com. Paintings: acrylic on canvas by Anita Chavez. Pillows: (living room) Cost Plus World Market, 881-9300, worldmarket.com; (bedroom) Pier 1 Imports, pier1.com, and Target, target.com. Plaster: American Clay, 866/404-1634, americanclay.com; installed by sculptor and seamstress Kendra Brock, 264-4060, kendragracebrock.com. Pots: (back courtyard) The Home Depot, homedepot.com; (front courtyard) Jackalope, 349-0955, jackalope.com. Rammed earth walls: Earth Origins Construction. Roofing: Florintino Pullido, 710-6642; (metal roofing) Earth Origins Construction. Sculpture (near living room fireplace): Beyond Borders, 260-0081. Skylights: 13 tubular skylights, Solatube from The Natural Lighting Company, 294-5284, thenaturallightingco.com. Sofas: Cost Plus World Market. Stains & sealers: BioShield. Stools (at the island): Tema Contemporary Furniture, 275-2121, temafurniture.com. Stucco: El Rey Stucco, 873-1180, elrey.com. Table & chairs: (outdoor) Cost Plus World Market, 881-9300 worldmarket.com; (table in hallway) Target. Tile: Earth Slate tile, Arizona Tile, 883-6076, arizonatile.com; (bathroom) Golden Gate quartzite from Arizona Tile. Vases (above living room nichos): Pier 1 Imports. Water features: designed and built by Earth Origins Construction. Windows: double-paned Energy Star low-E windows by Andersen Windows, 800/426-4261, andersenwindows.com.

MORE THAN A MAKEOVER
Unless otherwise noted, businesses below are in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Designer & builder: Kevin Evans, Annex General Contracting & Design, 345-2978, kevinevans@mind spring.com, annexgeneralcontracting.com. Appliances: GE Profile, Lowe’s, lowes.com. Backsplash: Dal-Tile recycled glass mosaics, Flooring Direct, 344-4064. Cabinetry: Cardell Cabinetry (online), cardellkitchens.com. Countertops: Silestone Amazon Leather, Artistic Tile & Granite, 344-1007, artistictileandgranite.com. Doors: (front door) two-inch solid alder door designed by Kevin Evans and built by Annex General Contracting & Design; (interior doors) Buffelen, Pat’s Doors, 877-7524; (sliding doors leading to courtyard) Eagle, Piñon Window & Door, Los Ranchos, 897-9985, pinonwindow.com. Electrical: Fenton’s Electric, 856-1997, fentonselectric.com. Fireplace: designed by Kevin Evans and reconstructed by Annex General Contracting & Design; Real Flame vent-free fireplace kit, realflame.com. Flooring: (wood flooring) Lumber Liquidators (online), 800/427-3966, lumberliquidators.com; (tile flooring) Flooring Direct; (brick flooring on front walkway, porch & courtyard) Academy brick pavers, Summit Brick & Tile Co., 881-5205, summitbrick.com. Framing & concrete: Annex General Contracting & Design. Gates: designed by Kevin Evans and built by Annex General Contracting & Design. Hardware: Emtek, Pat’s Doors. Heating, cooling & plumbing: Custom Plumbing & Heating Co., 344-0683, custom plumbingheating.com. HERS rater: Dalinda Bangert, EcoTerra Enterprises, Santa Fe, 795-5992, ecoterrahers.com. Insulation: Miller’s Insulation, 924-2214, millersinsulation.com. Landscaping: designed by Kevin Evans and installed by Annex General Contracting & Design; plants purchased at Osuna Nursery, 345-6644, osunanursery.com. Lighting: (living room sconces, kitchen pendant & fixture over dining table) Schoolhouse Electric Co. (online), 800/630-7113, schoolhouseelectric.com; (outdoor courtyard lights) commercial outdoor string lights, BLI Lighting Specialists (online), 800/245-5874, budgetlighting.com. Lumber: Raks Building Supply, 842-1103, raks.com. Paint: Benjamin Moore, Custom Paint Center, 262-1775,
custompaintcenter.com. Photograph (over fireplace): by Kirk Gittings, 344-5436, gittingsphoto.com. Plaster: Variance, installed by Annex General Contracting & Design. Plumbing fixtures & hardware: Kohler and Delta, Doc Savage Supply, 884-2656, www.docsavagesupply.com. Roofing: Delgado’s Roofing Co., 836-7401. Stucco: Annex General Contracting & Design. Vase (on mantel): Cost Plus World Market, worldmarket.com. Windows: Milgard, Piñon Window & Door.

GREEN HOME
LABOR OF LOVE

Unless otherwise noted, businesses below are in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Autoclaved aerated concrete (AAC): E-Crete, Casa Grande, AZ, 520/836-8781, e-crete.com. Cabinets: maple cabinets, Damon Abraham, DPA Furniture, 250-5910, dpafurniture.com. Ceiling fans (in the living room): Albuquerque Lighting, 345-2727, albuquerquelighting.com. Flooring: concrete floors with integrated color; control joints filled by Milagro Custom Flooring Solutions, 235-5784, milagroflooring.com. Garage door (providing access to the living room): Amarr Full-View Sectional distributed by Arbon Equipment Corporation, 344-5828, arbonequipment.com. Plaster: American Clay, 866/404-1634, americanclay.com. Roofing system: (reflective roofing) thermoplastic polyolefin (TPO) Pro-Ply roofing system, Lone Mountain Roofing, Bosque Farms, 869-2629, lonemountain.com. (Metal roofing) Sun Metal, 247-2278, www.sunmetalroofs.com; installed by Clinger Pro Roofing, Los Lunas, 865-0605, clingerproroofing.com. Skylights: Solatube, 888/765-2882, solatube.com. Tile: recycled glass tile, Craftsman Court Ceramics, Tucson, AZ, 520/319-1777. Waterless urinal: Uridan, Denmark, uridan.com. Windows: Semco Windows & Doors, 800/933-2206, semcowindows.com.